20 Sept 2018: Richard Ellard joins the lecturing staff

The School of Mathematical Sciences is delighted to welcome Dr Richard Ellard as an Assistant Lecturer in Mathematical Sciences. Richard has previously worked at UCD where he completed his doctorate. His research is in matrix theory and Richard will be teaching mathematical sciences to students across DIT.

25 Aug 2018: Postgraduate Certificate in Applied Statistics offered in 2018/19

The School will be offering its new postgraduate qualification in statistics again in 2018/19. The programme DT9002 PG Cert in Applied Statistics develops the advanced statistical skills required across a wide variety of sectors, such as, the insurance, banking, health care, enterprise software, internet technology, manufacturing and the public sector. The programme combines theory with the application of these skills to data sets, with an emphasis on the use of modern software packages.

20 Aug 2018: Data Analysis for Professionals to be offered via Springboard+

The School has once again been successful in gaining funding for its programme, DT8998 CPD Diploma in Data Analysis for Professionals, under the Springboard+ programme. The programme has been extremely successful since its inception and a large number of people working in data analysis or wanting to enter employment in this sector have developed the advanced mathematical and statistical skills required to succeeed.

This year applicants currently in employment are also eligible for support via Springboard as well as those seeking employment. We look forward to welcoming the new intake on this programme in September 2018.

24 Aug 2018: School welcomes its latest IRC doctoral project student

The School is delighted to welcome back its recent graduate of DT205 Mathematical Sciences, student excellence award winner and John Forde medal winner, Ed Donlon to start his study for a doctorate under the supervision of Dr Dana Mackey.

Ed has been awarded an IRC doctoral scholarship for his project Mathematical and Computational Modelling of Random Sequential Adsorption with Applications to the Optimisation of Immunosensors. This is an exciting research project with enormous practical relevance that will develop a set of mathematical models to characterize and guide the design of photosensitive materials capable of copying with high fidelity an illumination pattern into a holographic grating.

We wish Ed every success in his research.

20 Jul 2018: DIT to become first Technological University

Dublin Institute of Technology has been successful in its application to become the first Technological University (TU) in Ireland (see news here). Mathematical Sciences is at the centre of technological education and TU Dublin will be the first new Irish university to be established this century. This offers great opportunities for the new instittuion and, in particular, mathematics and statistics within the TU (which will distinguish itself by its practice-based and research-informed programmes, offering opportunities for students from all backgrounds to prepare for rewarding careers that contribute to the future of our society and economy).

DIT, ITT and ITB will be superseded by the new university in January 2019 and, from Febraury onwards, our graduates will be conferred with the first TU Dublin awards. This is a very exciting development and, with the move of the College of Sciences & Health to the new Grangegorman campus in 2020, will support us in developing our highly-skilled, technical graduates for the future.

There will be no immediate changes to the School’s programmes but we are looking forward to playing a central role in the technological education provided by the new TU.