16 Oct 2018: Gavin Elliott receives undergraduate Hamilton Prize in Mathematics from Royal Irish Academy

  • Print

On Tuesday 16 October, a School of Mathematical Sciences student, Gavin Elliott, received the Hamilton Prize for Dublin Institute of Technology from the Royal Irish Academy. The prize was presented by Professor Martin Hairer, Imperial College, who is a Fields Medallist and leading expert in the field of probability theory.

The awards given to the best undergraduate students in their penultimate year of study in mathematics from each of the universities are made annually by the Royal Irish Academy and celebrate the anniversary of William Rowan Hamilton’s discovery of quaternion algebra in 1843. Gavin Elliott is now a final-year student on the programme DT205 Mathematical Sciences. The ceremony took place in the opulent surroundings of Academy House and Gavin Elliott had the opportunity to meet Prof Hairer at an earlier masterclass and hear his Hamilton Lecture that evening.

Dr Chris Hills, the Head of the School of Mathematical Sciences, attended the prize giving ceremony on behalf of Dublin Institute of Technology. Commenting on Gavin’s success, he said: “Winning the Hamilton Prize is a superb achievement and Gavin is an excellent mathematician. It is a testament to the strength and depth of the programme that there was very strong competition for the position of best-placed undergraduate and Gavin has developed not only technical skills but also demonstrated the ability to apply and communicate these in practical contexts through mathematical modelling and the use of technology as part of his career development. Indeed, our graduates enjoy highly successful careers in a wide range of sectors from technology and data analysis to finance and research and I am sure that, when he graduates, Gavin will be very successful in the career he chooses.”

We congratulations to Gavin and we wish him every success in his final year of study and in the future.

Dr Chris Hills, Head of School, with Hamilton Prize winner, Gavin Elliott.